MERRY CHRISTMAS!

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

I know I say this every week but, This week went by so fast! Sister Sands and I are continuing to be busy. This week we started teaching NINE new people! And THREE of them came to church with us yesterday! We are so excited! Christmas is a magical time and everyone here is so nice. There are carolers EVERYWHERE. usually they are just children but I have also seen what looks like marching bands. Grown men with drums and tambourines walking around and singing. The missionaries and some ward members are Christmas Caroling tomorrow evening too. (Tomorrow’s Christmas Eve! What??) I am really happy to be here! 
 
The Ward Christmas Party was also this week. It turned into a huge success! there were 160 people that showed up! and 30 of them were nonmembers. A family that we are teaching came and the kids absolutely loved it! Candy and money were thrown out to the children and they all got presents and food. Spaghetti is a huge thing here. Aside from rice I bet it is any kid’s favourite food. But the sauce is sweet and not really like a tomato sauce, so its not really spaghetti, but that’s what they call it. And that was what we had for dinner. 
 
The whole mission got together this week for a Mission Christmas Conference (I would call it a party but President Reeder made it clear it was to be called a Conference… but it was a party). We all went to Naga. It takes around three hours to travel there from Daet. Our van had 14 missionaries in it, with very weak air conditioning…I am sure you can get the picture. It was super hot and cramped and loud. And the roads here are twisty and the drivers here are crazy! and Sister Sands gets car sick… We made it there safe and healthy 🙂 but it was a long journey. And the way back even longer because it was in the dark. I have to say that it was worth it though! the Conference was really great. We got to watch Johnny Lingo and then had a talent show and food and gifts. I got to see “my batch” (all the missionaries who came with me from the MTC). It was fun to catch up and hear their stories and how they are managing everything. Everyone is adjusting differently but we are all still here! 
 
Well Christmas is coming! Soon. And I hope everyone is getting ready! Bishop DeGuzman gave some really great advice yesterday at church. He said how Christmas is a time we can give and also a time to give up – meaning that we should be willing to sacrifice. And then he said that true worship REQUIRES sacrifice. I love my Savior! And I am trying to become like Him and do as He would do. This mission is teaching me a thousand different ways that I can change and improve myself. And the biggest thing I have learned is that I can’t be like Christ at all if I do not make sacrifices. This time of year is a wonderful time to think about Christ and contemplate the reason He was even born – and that was to demonstrate His complete love for us all by sacrificing Himself so we could return and live with God again. I love my Savior!
 
Sana Maligayang Pasko sa lahat! 
 
Mahal ko kayo 🙂
 
Sister Campbell
Image
 
Image
 
Image
 
Image
 
Image
 
Image

 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

