One Day at a Time

 

This week has been a complete whirlwind. Wow. I can’t believe it has been 7 days since I wrote my last email. Time continues to go by quickly. Sister Sands and I are taking one day at a time trying to find people to teach the Gospel to. We have had some miracles happen this week which we are both very grateful for. We found two more families and an older lady this week. All are very open and warm to us and have invited us back to learn more. We are both very excited! Each morning we study together and plan the lessons we want to teach. And I have an hour of Language study everyday as well. Tagalog here in the Philippines and the Tagalog I learned in the MTC are very different languages. People here speak fast. And it all sounds like one long word and I am still having trouble understanding when people talk to me… Sister Sands tells me that by the end of my training (3 months) I will be completely fine and I won’y need her to translate everything for me. I trust her and I guess time will tell. 
 
On Friday we had a Zone Training Meeting. Sister Coons is in my ZONE! She was in my district in the MTC. It was probably the best thing for me to see her! As soon as I saw her I realized that I am NOT living in a dream, and that I really am in the Philippines. That may not make sense but up to this point I guess being here ON MY MISSION hasn’t sunk in yet. Perhaps it still hasn’t, but seeing Sister Coons was a good reminder that, first of all, I was actually in the MTC like 3 weeks ago, and secondly, that this whole mission experience is really happening. Sister Coons and I were able to catch up a little bit. And I am happy to report that I am not the only one struggling with the language 🙂 We were both comforted by this! It is good to know I am not alone.
 
The ward members and the Bishop continue to be a strength to the missionaries. They are wonderful and encouraging. My roommates and companion find ways to serve me everyday. Sister Paguigan rewashed my clothes for me 🙂 I DID wash them but we hung them up to dry and they were smelling like dog poo… it was really gross. Apparently it is because I didn’t rinse out the soap properly… Washing by hand is quite the task. But Sister Paguigan taught me her ways so hopefully this week things will go better 🙂
 
I am continuing to love it here, despite the challenges that I am facing. God is blessing me and I am quite aware of that. I hope everyone has a good week!
 
Mahal ko kayo!
 
Sister Campbell
 
Image  Image  Image  ImageImage

 

Leave a Reply

