I am Home

I made it through the six weeks of training at the MTC and I currently sit at an Internet Cafe in the Philippines! How it is even possible that I am here is a mystery. I am still in shock I think because it hasn’t hit me yet that I am actually on my mission. Wait, I AM ON MY MISSION! Nope, still hasn’t sunk in. But it is amazing to be here. My MTC District and I woke up on Monday morning and flew out to Tokyo, then Manila. We went to bed Tuesday night (Thats right, TUESDAY night) at a hotel in Manila. The next morning we were on a plane to Naga to meet the Mission President and his wife. A thick humid wall of heat hit us as we stepped out into Naga. The missionaries who were there to greet us kindly explained that now is winter and this weather is what everyone calls “cold”. I am sure I will be able to get used to it, but so far it has been a challenge.
 
I have been assigned in the Daet area. Daet is the second largest city in the Naga Mission. It has one stop light. And Naga has one stop light. That makes two lights in the whole mission! I knew I was going rural, but you just never know all the details until you are here. My companion’s name is Sister Sands. She is from Lehi, Utah. She is probably the nicest person on the planet! She has been patient and encouraging and I really could not have asked for a better trainer. 
 
I have met my ward. After the meetings a Sister came up to me and told me “Don’t be homesick. You are home now.” It was such a beautiful thing to hear. I feel so welcome here. The people are friendly and loving and full of smiles! 
 
I am happy to report that I am safe and happy. I am loving my time here in Daet serving my fellow Pinoys. I wish all my friends and family a good week! 
 
God Bless,
 
Sister Campbell
 
 
ImageImageImage
 
Leave a Reply

