Don’t Look Back, Only Change

This week my wonderful teacher, Sister Osborn gave me the most timely words of wisdom. It is hard to explain how I feel sometimes with learning a new language and being needed to teach in that language so early on in my mission. Throughout the week we learned better ways to improve our ways of planning lessons and learning the language. I made a comment that I had wished I had known all this earlier, because it would have helped me be a better missionary. Sister Osborn looked at me and said, “Don’t look back, only change.” Those words have become to have so much meaning. I now find it easier to look forward with the tasks ahead of me (this coming week is a busy one) with the attitude of applying what I now know rather than feeling sorry for the way I lacked the ability to before. Again, it is hard to explain but I wanted to share these words of wisdom.

Sometimes small words in English are a mile long in Tagalog. “Need” is “pangangailangan”. BUT I learned that to say “I think so, but I’m not sure” you say one word, “Yata” It makes no sense. I love the Language though! It is quite fun to speak it 🙂

Last Monday we had two districts in our zone fly to the PHILIPPINES! Sunday night we all stood in the hallway of our language building and sang the hymn “God be With you Till we Meet Again” I think that was one of my favourite moments so far. There are some amazing singers here at the MTC. And I think most of them are in our zone. Sometimes in the shower the Sisters will just start singing hymns and harmonizing. It is like a mini concert every morning. I love it! Sometimes me and some sisters sing Primary songs when we are working out. There is music all the time here!

Oh I have a joke! (Hanna you will appreciate this the most) “Who was the first prophet to go through the MTC?” MOSES!! Haha it still cracks me up. 

Anyways I am loving this experience! Thank you for those who have written me and have given me words of encouragement! I love getting mail! Tomorrow marks the halfway mark of the MTC 🙂 Time is already flying by. 

I love you all!

Sister Campbell

Image

Leave a Reply

