Yoda Poetry

Prideful Pronouns and Yoda Poetry

I have officially learned how to speak like Yoda. For all you Star Wars fans, Ewoks speak Tagalog. AND Yoda speaks Tagalog style in English. It makes me laugh every time I translate back to English… All of the missionaries in my district are speaking like Yoda now. I have also learned that Tagalog pronouns have to go before anything else in a sentence. DESPITE the rules we learned prior. Pronouns don’t follow the rules. Needless to say, the grammar and sentence structure is complicated. I am learning though.

My teaching experiences continue to amaze me. I sometimes can’t believe how much of the language I know, and then I think of all I need to learn and it intimidates me.

I am surrounded by AMERICANS! My whole zone thinks I talk funny. The favourite word so far is “dragon”. It makes me chuckle to myself at how funny everyone thinks I sound. I also gave a Canadian geography class to the Sisters in my District. They knew absolutely nothing about Canada, except for the names of two provinces, British Columbia and Alberta.

Words I have learned so far that are sure to intimidate anyone learning a new language. Pagpapakumbaba which means humility and Palikamakapangyarihan which means Almighty. Try to pronounce it. Now you know what I sound like when I am attempting. All the words in this language seem so long!

The highlight of the week was getting to hear Elder Dallin H. Oaks speak to us at the MTC! He came for the Tuesday Night Devotional. As he entered the auditorium all 4000 of us missionaries stood to show our love and respect. I loved the sense of reverence that was present during the meeting. The MTC is such a beautiful place. Christmas lights are already going up and everyone is happy and helpful and encouraging. I still can’t believe that I am really here.

Bye for now!

Sister Campbell

IMG_0352 (1)

IMG_0320 (1)

Leave a Reply

