The Call

Waiting for anything can be difficult, but waiting for my mission call to come in the mail was almost unbearable. I was nervous and excited to know where the Lord wanted me to serve. I had watched and re-watched a great General Conference talk by Elder Ronald A. Rasband entitled “The Divine Call of a Missionary”. It gave me comfort in knowing that no matter where I was sent, it was inspired by God.

So naturally when my call did finally come, and I held the envelope in my hands, I felt at peace. I opened the envelope and held the letter. My eyes immediately saw the country I was to serve in and all apprehension I had been feeling melted away. I started beaming. My family, still not in the know but gathered around me, grew a little impatient I’m sure as I attempted to read my call out loud.

“You are hereby called to serve as a missionary of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. You are assigned to labor in the Philippines Naga Mission.”

As I heard my voice say those words it rang true in my heart once again that the Lord has called me to His work.

IMG_0949 DSC06435

http://www.lds.org/general-conference/2010/04/the-divine-call-of-a-missionary?lang=eng

Leave a Reply

